End of Summer and Coconut Oil

Coconut oil is a super-food with hundreds of uses that can help improve your health and it has become a staple in my kitchen – and in my bathroom!  As a good source of healthy fats to help increase my energy and decrease my appetite and with natural anti-bacterial and moisturizing properties to nourish my skin and hair, one jar of coconut oil has many uses!

CoconutOil2

With that being said, I do keep 2 jars of coconut oil in my house – one in the kitchen for cooking and one in the bathroom as a skin and hair product.  It would be strange (and kind of gross) to use a product for food prep that has been in the bathroom!  Note that a little bit goes a long way, both in cooking (due to its high saturated fat content) and as a beauty product, so I will typically error on the light side and add more if needed.

Here are my top 3 favorite ways to use coconut oil at the end of summer:

  1. Leave-in hair conditioner: Coconut oil provides proteins to help nourish and mend damaged hair and leaves hair soft and shiny. After a long summer outside in the sun, coconut oil has helped repair my hair from weather, blow drying, and my seasonal hair color processing.  I will use about 1 teaspoon (or less) throughout my hair before bedtime as an over-night conditioner and sometimes will use a little on the ends of my hair after blow drying to add some extra shine.  Remember – less is more;  when I add too much, my fine hair may appear greasy, so depending on the structure of your hair, adjust the application size as needed.
  2. Skin moisturizer:  I have very sensitive skin and many beauty products will cause break outs and rashes.  I also tend to sun burn easily, so by the end of summer, my skin may be dry and more sensitive than usual.  Coconut oil is a fantastic, all natural moisturizer that has never irritated my skin and will actually help soothe any itchy patches as well as sun burn.  I apply right after a shower to any areas where I commonly experience dry skin.  I’ll play close attention to “portion control” when applying it my face to avoid over moisturizing;  this will vary based on your skin type.
  3. Roasting seasonal veggies.  I like to slice up summer squash and zucchini and drizzle with coconut oil, salt and pepper and then roasting the veggies in the oven at 400 degrees for about 20 minutes.  Since the melting point of coconut oil is 76 degrees, it usually remains solid in my temperate Pacific Northwest climate.  If you live someplace warmer, your coconut oil might melt naturally and remain in a more liquid form.  If you want it to melt, simply stick the jar of coconut oil into a bowl with hot water – hot tap water will do.  The coconut oil will liquefy after a few minutes.  Sometimes I’ll also measure out my coconut oil into a small bowl and place that in a larger bowl with warm water.

Question for you:  Do you use coconut oil?  What is your favorite way to use this super-food?

Cheers³

Reni

Leave a Reply

