My Introduction to Spirulina

Have you heard of Spirulina?  I recently tried it for the first time.

I first learned about Spirulina at nutrition school while studying the raw food diet. Spirulina is a blue-green algae found in pristine freshwater lakes, rivers and ponds.  I admit I was a little skeptical about eating algae, however, the more I learned, the more curious I became.  Spirulina is a superfood with many health benefits, including:

  1. Spirulina is most known for it’s ability to strengthen the immune system;  some reports indicate regular consumption of Spirulina will help reduce the frequency and impact of colds, flu and other illness.
  2. It is great for women:  it’s strong anti-inflammatory agents help ease symptoms of PMS, it has 26 times the calcium of milk and is also is high in bio-available iron, so it can help those with anemia or iron deficiency.
  3. It is an excellent source of plant-based protein;  gram for gram Spirulina has more protein than beef.

Here is more great information about Spirulina:

Spirulina_Guide

My first experiment with eating this algae involved adding it to a smoothie – since it is packed with protein, I knew this would be a great recovery drink after a tough workout.  How was it?  Well, the color was amazing!  I’ve never made such a deep green smoothie, even when I loaded it up with spinach and kale.  It tasted a lot like green juice, perhaps slightly bitter.  I balanced this by adding sweet fruit, like berries and banana.  Since I really like green juice, I enjoyed this refreshing and nutritious smoothie and I can’t wait to try it in my home made salad dressing next time I whip up a batch.  If you haven’t had green juice before, this may take a few taste tests.  Add less Spirulina initially and build up to a full serving and adding your favorite fruits will help a lot.  Here is my recipe for a Spirulina Smoothie:

Spirulina Smoothie

SpirulinaSmoothie

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. coconut water
  • 1-2 tsp. Spirulina
  • ½ banana, sliced
  • A handful of your favorite berries – I used a blueberry / strawberry combo!
  • A handful of ice cubes

Directions:

  • Combine all ingredients, blend well and enjoy!

Questions for you:  Will you be willing to try Spirulina?  How will you add this into your nutrition plan?  Let me know!

Cheers³

Reni

2 thoughts on “My Introduction to Spirulina

  1. I know I like green smoothies. And I know I like seaweed (omg, seaweed salad for the win, every damn time). But there is just something bout the name “spirulina” or “blue-green algae” that really gives me a hard time. Maybe it’s all of those signs saying “No Swimming” when it is overblooming here in the summer…haha

    Like

  2. I have never tried Spriulina but it sounds like it would be really good for you. Did you just buy it at the grocery store?
    I find sometimes the first tries of something new, if it such a different kind of product can take a few more tries before I can say if I like it or not. Figuring out the right way to mix it in something as well can always be a challenge.
    Thanks for sharing Reni!

    Like

Leave a Reply

