Blueberry Quinoa Salad – As featured on Portland KATU News This Morning

I recently had the awesome opportunity to talk about my book, Eat Like A Champ, on a local Portland morning news show.  It was exciting, and honestly a little scary.

It helped that I brought some of my favorite foods to talk about.  Since berries are in season here in the Pacific Northwest, I was able to show off the strawberries and blueberries that I had just received as part of my CSA share.  I also brought one of my favorite summer salads that is packed with superfoods:

KATU News Guest Spot Blueberry Quinoa Salad

I’ve had a lot of requests for the recipe, so here it is:

Blueberry Quinoa Salad

Blueberry Quinoa Salad

Dressing:

  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 2 tbsp. extra virgin cold pressed olive oil
  • salt / pepper, to taste

Salad:

  • 1/3 cup raw almonds
  • 1 cup dry quinoa
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 yellow pepper, chopped
  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 2 cups arugula, roughly chopped

Directions:

  1. Cook the quinoa:  add quinoa to pot with 2 cups of water and bring to a boil – switch to medium / low heat, checking and stirring every 5 minutes until moisture is absorbed, about 15 minutes total
  2. When the quinoa is cooked, set aside and allow it to cool
  3. Prep the dressing in a large bowl:  pour in lemon juice, olive oil, salt / pepper and whisk everything together
  4. Chop the bell peppers, add to the bowl and mix with dressing until evenly coated
  5. Gently stir in almonds, blueberries and quinoa into the bowl with the dressing / pepper mix
  6. Refrigerate for at least one hour before serving and then enjoy!

Variations:

  • This recipe is vegetarian (and vegan and gluten-free BTW!), but it also tastes great topped with some grilled chicken.

Question for you:  Do you have a favorite berry?  Come on over to my Facebook page and let me know – I’d love to see some pics too!

Cheers³

Reni

One thought on “Blueberry Quinoa Salad – As featured on Portland KATU News This Morning

  1. Pingback: Sunday Sampler: - GlamGirlGlow

Leave a Reply

