Eating Like A Champ in New York City & Mediteranean Diet in May

I’m back from New York!  I had a wonderful trip and was lucky to meet so many amazing colleagues and new friends.  It was an honor to participate in the Whole Foods event with the Self Health Movement’s authors and then walk across the stage in Jazz at Lincoln Center with my fellow Launch Your Dream Book authors. 

 ReniandCynthia

ReniandAbby

OnStage

In addition to the events promoting my new book Eat Like A Champ, I was able to have a little fun!

Matt and I walked all over Central Park:

    CentralPark

Walked the full length of the High Line:

HighLine

Ran in Brooklyn’s Prospect Park:

MatandReniRun

Walked across the Brooklyn Bridge:

BrooklynBridge

We also enjoyed a ball game at Yankee Stadium and watched the Yankees win against the Mets: 

YankeeStadium

All that walking and running around made me HUNGRY so we also ate a lot of great food!  Here are my three favorite restaurants:

1)   IdeyaLatin Caribbean.  Sitting outside in the sunshine after our run was a great way to enjoy this brunch in Brooklyn.  We started with a Picante Maria (think spicy bloody Mary with tequila) and then I had the Pan Con Huevos, and egg sandwich with chorizo and a mixed green salad.

IdeyaBrunch

2)  Estiatorio Milos – Greek.  This Midtown restaurant boasts fresh food and I believe it since  the catch of the day was on display, and some of it was still moving.  Their 3 course lunch menu featured fresh, simple food at a reasonable price.  The server cut fresh oregano from a plant into olive oil to dip the fresh-bread (that was still warm when brought to our table) in.  I started with a delicious tomato and feta salad, my main was grilled salmon with broccoli, and for dessert I enjoyed yogurt with honey.

MilosLunch

3)   Foragers City Market Chelsea – Local.  Featuring food from local area farms, this small neighborhood restaurant in Chelsea was a treat.  We shared a charcuterie with “pan con tomate” – bread with tomatoes – to start.  Then we enjoyed curried cauliflower soup and white asparagus appetizers.  For a main dish, I enjoyed a grass-fed New York strip steak (I had to – I was in New York!) with potato souffle and Matt had roasted duck breast with polenta and seasonal vegetables.   

ForagersDinner

Now that I am home, my travels have inspired me to explore some new recipes from the comfort of my own kitchen.  I really enjoyed the Mediterranean fare at Estiaorio Milos so much I starting researching recipes I could cook myself and during my exploring, I learned that May is Mediterranean Diet month.  Sponsored by Oldways and the Mediterranean Foods Alliance, the goal of this event is to generate awareness of the delicious foods and wide-ranging health benefits associated with the Mediterranean Diet and its vibrant lifestyle.  Their website provides great resources about the Mediterranean Diet, including recipes so I’ll be testing them out and sharing my favorites on the blog throughout the month of May.

Question for you:  Do you have a favorite Mediterranean dish or recipe?  Please share in the comments section on the blog!

Cheers³

Reni

Leave a Reply

