Getting Ready to Race in 2015 & a Pre-Race Pesto Recipe

I’ve been taking a short break from running while I complete my 21 Day Detox this month, so I’ve had some extra time to refine my goals for 2015. From a running perspective, my goal is to run over 500 miles for the year with at least 6 races, including one Half Marathon. I am psyched to start training soon, so I signed up for my first 2015 race over the weekend, the Rock-n-Roll Portland 10K in May.

Having a race to train for and look forward to has always been an integral part of running for me. I suppose it stems from my background in team sports; I’m used to training for a specific event. While it is fun to run just to run, I find I’m more dedicated when I know I need to be ready for a race. As I finalize my 2015 racing schedule, I’ll begin to blog more about training. Today, as my excitement grows anticipating my first race of the year, let’s talk about pre-race rituals. I was recently asked about my pre-race routine by my new friends at Casper mattresses, a company that “re-imagines the experience of purchasing a mattress.”  Check them out!   They have created a mattress that ships right to your door in a box the size of a mini fridge;  as someone who lives in a high-rise building, the thought of moving big furniture gives me a headache, so I’m seriously considering a Casper mattress when the time comes for a new bed!

Here are 3 key components to my pre-race ritual:

  1. Pinterest: The days before a race I usually have some nervous energy. To help me relax, I search for running related pins on Pinterest and I’ll add motivational quotes to my Fitness board. I’ll also look for cute running apparel and cool gear to add to my Style board and pick something out as a “reward” for myself after I finish the race.
  2. Sleep: Once my pre-race jitters have calmed down a bit, it’s time to hit the hay. I try to get at least 8 hours of shut-eye the night before a race.  Knowing the butterflies in my stomach might wake me up early on the big day, I also focus on getting a good night’s sleep the days leading up to the race as well, so I start my slumber party at least 48 hours before my event.
  3. Fuel: I have learned the hard way that I need to pay close attention to what I eat the day before and the morning of my races (Remember the time I had mussels the day before the Whidbey Island 10K and got food poisoning?  That was extremely rough!). One of my favorite pre-race dinners is my homemade pesto with quinoa and grilled chicken.

Pre-Race Pesto – 2 servings

Pre Race Pesto

Ingredients

  • 2-3 tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tbsp. shredded Parmesan cheese
  • 2 big handfuls of fresh basil
  • 1-2 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 cup raw almonds

Directions

  1. Put all ingredients into a food processor and blend well

Servings Suggestion

  • Mix with 1 cup cooked quinoa and divide into 2 bowls; top with slices of grilled chicken and a few halved cherry tomatoes – yum!

 

Question for you:  Do you have a specific ritual you follow before a big race?  Let me know!

Cheers³

Reni

2 thoughts on “Getting Ready to Race in 2015 & a Pre-Race Pesto Recipe

  1. Singing up for a race is the best motivation! I WISH I could get 8 hours of sleep before a race, my performance would probably improve greatly; however, I usually don’t even fall asleep! Your pesto recipe looks soo good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

