August End of Summer Awesomeness – Back to School Shopping with Stitch Fix

Back to School Shopping used to be one of my favorite end of summer activities, and here are 3 reasons why:

  1. Dressing for Success:  It was absolutely critical to pick out the right outfit for the first day of school to make the right impression on classmates and teachers.
  2. School Supplies:  Picking out a new trapper keeper and day planner was so fun, and using new pens in fresh notebooks invoked a sense of zen-like relaxation.
  3. New shoes!  Perhaps a new pair of volleyball shoes for the upcoming season or a stylish new pair of ballet flats to wear with the previously mentioned first day of school outfit.

I recently did a little “Back to School” shopping myself (even thought I’ve been in school at the Institute for Integrative Nutrition since January).  Since I work from home, my day-to-day outfits involve mostly yoga pants and tank tops, but now that I can start working with clients as a Health Coach (more information about that exciting news in an upcoming post!) I realized I needed to invest in a few new pieces.  I wanted a couple of outfits I could wear when meeting with clients, hosting a cooking class or leading a nutrition discussion that would look professional and inspire confidence.  However, I didn’t have much spare time to spend scouring the mall for new clothes that fit well and presented the image I was looking for – working full-time, going to school, building a business, training for my upcoming race and taking care of 2 big furry Greyhounds doesn’t leave me with much extra time!  So I decided to give Stitch Fix a whirl….

Stitch Fix

According to the Stitch Fix website, “Stitch Fix is the first fashion retailer to blend expert styling, proprietary technology and unique product to deliver a shopping experience that is truly personalized for you. Simply fill out the Stitch Fix Style Profile and our personal stylists will handpick a selection of five clothing items and accessories unique to your taste, budget and lifestyle. You can buy what you like and return the rest!”  I filled out a profile, picked a date for my Fix, and waited by the door for my delivery.  And when it arrived, I was pleasantly surprised!  It included clothing I wouldn’t have picked out on my own, but they fit perfectly and they worked with my personal style.

In my first Fix, I kept a pair of skinny jeans and a blue and white tank top and in my second Fix, I kept a cute little black dress, a green peasant top, blue cropped pants, and a black and white top (not pictured above).  The items I returned included a jean jacket (I already had one), a top with brass/gold accents (I only wear silver jewelry), a dress with super skinny straps (I refuse to wear strap-less bras), and a blue print top that was just too similar to the other blue and white tank top I kept.  I was able to provide feedback on the items I returned so my stylist could make better choices in the future – and clearly it worked as I kept twice as much in the second fix compared to my first one.  I was amazed how well everything fit;  I’m tall with an athletic build, so I have a hard time finding clothes that fit right even when I do spend hours trying things on. Each Fix also includes a little card with suggested outfits for each item, so you can see different ways to mix and match with clothes I might already own;  this was super helpful seeing as I seemed to forget how to put together an outfit after too many days wearing yoga pants!

Questions for you:  Do you need a “Back to School” outfit to make a great first impression?  Or maybe you are looking to spice up your style and you don’t have a ton of time to shop?  I highly recommend Stitch Fix!  Let me know if you check it out – I’d love to see pics of your new clothes.

Cheers³

Reni

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “August End of Summer Awesomeness – Back to School Shopping with Stitch Fix

Leave a Reply

