June Farmers Market Finds: Straw-Ban-Kale Protein Smoothie

Yesterday was the kick-off for my neighborhood Farmers Market. Although Portland’s larger market at PSU runs almost year round, the smaller neighborhood markets typically run from May/June – September/October. The South Waterfront Farmers Market is held every Thursday from 2pm-7pm. There are several food vendors (my favorite is the wood fired pizzas) as well as other local artisans and farmers. They even have wine and cider available with free tastings. Here were my purchases from my first trip to the local market:

1. Cherries
2. Strawberries
3. Kale – 2 kinds!

20140606-191610-69370403.jpg

Today for breakfast I enjoyed 2 of those finds for breakfast in a protein smoothie….

Straw-Ban-Kale Protein Smoothie

20140606-191814-69494165.jpg

Ingredients / Nutrition Info:
4-6 strawberries with the tops removed
1 banana sliced
1 kale leaf, with stem removed, chopped
1 tbsp hemp protein powder
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
1 cup almond milk

20140606-192459-69899491.jpg

Directions:
Blend all ingredients and enjoy! I use a hand-held immersion blender and it works great.

Questions for you: Do you have a local Farmers Market in your neighborhood? Have you been there yet?

Cheers³

Reni

6 thoughts on “June Farmers Market Finds: Straw-Ban-Kale Protein Smoothie

  1. Pingback: Travel Blender – Kitchen Gadgets in November | Cheers³

  2. Pingback: June Farmers Market Finds Wrap Up + Intro to PiYo | Cheers³

  3. Yum! I haven’t been to the Farmer’s Market in my neighborhood because it’s at an odd time (Thurs 4pm) and I’m usually at work. You have inspired me though, I need to get to a farmers market!

    Like

Leave a Reply

