May Race Debrief – Cinco de Mayo 10K

On Sunday May 4th I ran the Cinco de Mayo 10K race, and I was able to shave 10 seconds of my fastest 10K this year!

Here are my three lessons learned from the Cinco de Mayo 10k:

  1. I need to wake up earlier on race day so I can eat more fuel and allow time for digestion.
  2. Electrolyte drinks provided at races are not my friend…  I got bad stomach pain after I had a small drink after running 8 miles perhaps I need to stick to Coconut Water.
  3. I appreciated the new route for this race through Northwest Portland – it was fun to mix it up!

Since I’m also training for a Half Marathon in June, I tagged on 2 miles at the start of the race and 2 miles at the end to ensure I got in my 10 mile long run for the week.  Needless to say, I was very tired after my run…. but I very much enjoyed the homemade chicken enchiladas with Verde sauce that Matt and I made for dinner.

Apparently I was not as tired as Lucie who was literally sleeping with her head propped up as I was stretching…  silly Greyhound:

photo(58)

Question for you:  Did you race for Cinco de Mayo?  What did you eat after?

Cheers³

Reni

PS – I now have a Facebook page, where I’ll be linking my blog posts and sharing other health and fitness tips (and even occasional Greyhound photos).  Check it out!

One thought on “May Race Debrief – Cinco de Mayo 10K

  1. Pingback: Meatless May Wrap Up + Running Over 100 Miles | Cheers³

Leave a Reply

