April Showers – Jump Start Your Day with Lemon Water

For years I had quite the morning coffee habit.  When I had a long commute, I’d often motivate myself to get up early and beat traffic by stopping at Starbucks for a Venti Carmel Macchiato.  This was not only hard on my wallet, but starting my day with a giant cup of espresso and sugar was not great for my health, and I was usually crashing by the time I actually rolled into the office.  I was able to cut back to plain old coffee brewed at home with a splash of almond milk, but recently challenged myself to see if I could kick my morning habit after reading about the benefits of drinking warm lemon water first thing in the morning.  Here are a few of my favorite reasons for making the switch:

  • Boosts your immune system due to their high amounts of Vitamin C and Potassium
  • Helps with digestion – clears the digestive track and flushes toxins from the body
  • Clears Skin – Vitamin C will help decrease wrinkles and blemishes

There are many more great reasons to make the switch, as shown in this Info graphic from Holistic Voyage:

www.pinterest.com

Warm Lemon Water in the Morning

Warm Lemon Water in the Morning

Directions:

  1. Lightly heat your water – not too hot or it will kill the helpful nutrients in the lemon.  I microwave my mug for 1-2 minutes.
  2. Squeeze the juice from a large lemon wedge into the water and stir with a spoon.
  3. Drink on an empty stomach before your balanced breakfast.

Tips:

  • Watch out for seeds!
  • If working to replace this process for your typical coffee, I would have my lemon water first, and then about 30 minutes later have some coffee, gradually decreasing the amount of coffee until I no longer had any at all.  You can try cold turkey, but might end up with a headache by mid morning.

I’m happy to report that while I still will enjoy a cup of coffee now and again, usually on weekends as a treat, for the past 2 months I haven’t been tied to my morning coffee during the work week.

Question for you:  What is your morning beverage of choice?

Cheers³

Reni

PS – I now have a Facebook page, where I’ll be linking my blog posts and sharing other health and fitness tips (and perhaps an occasional Greyhound photo).  Check it out! 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “April Showers – Jump Start Your Day with Lemon Water

  1. Pingback: Lemon Juicer – Kitchen Gadgets in November | Cheers³

  2. Pingback: May: Integrative Nutrition Health Coaching Program Check-In | Cheers³

  3. Pingback: April Showers Wrap Up + Sparkling Water with Frozen Fruit | Cheers³

Leave a Reply

