March Greens – Simple Kale Salad

I have a confession to make:  I think I’m addicted to kale!  I love kale…  While it is a rather new component to my diet, I eat it almost every day and when I don’t eat it regularly, I feel off.  I’ve even tricked my husband into liking kale too 🙂  Here are three health benefits of this mighty green:

  1. Kale is low-calorie, high in fiber and has zero fat.
  2. Kale is a great source of calcium and can help prevent bone loss (osteoporosis).  In fact, per calorie, kale has more calcium than milk, so if you are sensitive to dairy, try kale.
  3. Move over fish oil – kale has both omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids;  omega-3 specifically helps fight against arthritis, asthma and autoimmune disorders.

Here is a great graphic with more fun facts about kale:

photo(47)

One of my favorite ways to eat kale is in a simple salad.

Simple Kale Salad

photo(45)

**Note – Cucumber slices are optional – I used some with this salad, but usually I just eat kale on its own.

Ingredients / Nutrition Information:

  • 1.5 cups of chopped raw kale
  • 5 spritzes of olive oil
  • salt

photo(46)

Directions:

  • Cut or rip kale into bite size pieces, removing the thick stem in the middle of the leaf
  • Wash the chopped kale by dunking it in cold water
  • Dry either with a towel pat down or salad spinner
  • Put kale into salad bowl
  • Spritz with olive oil and sprinkle just a little salt over top
  • Gently massage the olive oil and salt evenly into kale
  • Wash the salty oil from your hands and enjoy your salad!

Variations:

  • Kale is an acquired taste – when you first try it, it might seem bitter and / or chewy.  Sprinkle a little Parmesan or goat cheese on top.
  • Lemon juice also adds a little zing.
  • There are several different types of kale – curly kale, dino kale, purple kale –  try them all and see if you like one better than the other.
  • If raw kale isn’t your thing, saute it with olive oil, salt and pepper.
  • Finally, you can also try sneaking a little into a smoothie.  I’ll be posting a green smoothie recipe later this month – stay tuned!

Questions for you: Do you have a favorite green veggie recipe?  Post a comment to let me know and you can be a guest blogger!

Cheers³

Reni

3 thoughts on “March Greens – Simple Kale Salad

  1. Pingback: Food and Medicine | Cheers³

  2. Pingback: March Greens Wrap Up + Simple Kale Salad Take 2 | Cheers³

  3. Pingback: March Race Debrief – Shamrock Run 5K | Cheers³

Leave a Reply

