February Crock Pot Cooking – Potato Soup

Have you ever started cooking dinner and realized you are missing a key ingredient? Imagine my chagrin when I started to prep my easy 3 ingredient soup and realized I didn’t have any chicken broth! I weighed my options:

1. Walk to the local grocery store in the snow to buy some chicken broth
2. Call Matt and ask him to stop at the store on the way home from work
3. Scrounge around in the pantry to see what I can use as a substitute

Since I already had the fresh organic veggies chopped, I went with option 3 because I found a can of Amy’s No Chicken Noodle Soup in our cupboard. I figured it was mostly broth and I’d end up blending all the ingredients together so a few noodles and veggies would work fine in the soup I was making. I was able to save a little money and time by using what I had in hand instead of making a special trip to the store for one item – a win-win! So here is my adapted recipe for Potato Soup in the crock pot – if you don’t have a can of Amy’s soup, feel free to use 2 cups of broth or any other broth based soup you have hiding in your pantry!

Crock Pot Potato Soup

20140220-174059.jpg

Ingredients / Nutrition Information

20140220-174155.jpg

Directions:
-Chop potatoes (about 1 pound or 4-6 medium) and half an onion and place in crock pot
-Pour in soup / broth into crock pot and stir in with the potatoes
-Cook in low for 6-8 hours, until potatoes are tender
-Use immersion blender (or food processor) to blend soup
-Season with salt / pepper and serve!

The leftovers are great for lunch the next day with soup or salad.

Question for you: Do you have a favorite crock pot recipe? Post a comment to let me know and you can be a guest blogger!

Cheers³

Reni

3 thoughts on “February Crock Pot Cooking – Potato Soup

  1. Pingback: February Crock Pot Cooking Wrap Up + Salsa Chicken | Cheers³

  2. Will try this as soon as we return to the snowy and cold Midwest! Grandpa loved potato soup and Grandma always made it for him. They would have enjoyed this recipe!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

