January Winter Roasting Wrap Up + Roasted Cauliflower Recipe

January has come to an end and winter wears on as we move into February.  Here is a quick re-cap of the 3 most popular Winter Roasting recipes in January:

1)  Roasted Broccoli

20140121-212024.jpg

2)  Roasted Brussel Sprouts

20140119-000318.jpg

3) Roasted Butternut Squash Soup

20140125-181945.jpg

My final Winter Roasting recipe is from a guest Blogger, my sister-in-law Lori, who shared a recipe for Roasted Cauliflower that apparently is a big favorite for  my nephews (ages 4 and 6).  Please note, I haven’t had a chance to try this out myself yet, but I have confidence that if my nephews will eat it, it must be yummy!

Roasted Cauliflower

roasted-cauliflower-2

image source

Ingredients / Nutrition Information:

  • 1 medium head of fresh cauliflower
  • 5 spritzes of olive oil
  • salt / pepper to taste

20140131-184120.jpg

Directions:

  1. Setup oven to 400 degrees
  2. Wash / chop cauliflower
  3. Place cauliflower florets into a glass baking dish, spritz with olive oil and salt / pepper
  4. Roast in oven for about 20-30 minutes – check mid way though, stir as needed

Variations / Tips:

  • I was warned that this recipe has a rather pungent odor associated with it (let’s just say it is a smell that 4 and 6-year-old boys find funny), so when I try this I plan to sprinkle a little lemon juice and add a few cloves of garlic to the baking dish to help combat the aroma.

Next Month’s Theme:  In honor of this weekend’s big football game that shall not be named, February’s recipe theme will be Crock Pot Cooking.  I will share some old favorite and new inspirations of healthy recipes meant for simmering in a slow cooker.

Questions for you: Will you be making chilli in a slow cooker for Sunday’s game?  Do you have a favorite crock pot recipe?  Post a comment to let me know and you can be a guest blogger!

Cheers³

Reni

Leave a Reply

