January Winter Roasting – Roasted Brussel Sprouts

Brussel sprouts are a new food for me. Growing up we never ate them because my Mom didn’t like them. I think she had to eat boiled Brussel sprouts as a kid and didn’t much care for them. I’ve never had boiled Brussel sprouts, but I dig roasted Brussel sprouts! Lately I’ve been making them with coconut oil which adds an interesting flavor and offers a nice change from olive oil. Upon doing a little research, I have learned Brussel sprouts offer many nutritional benefits – here are my top 3:

1. Great source of vitamin C without an orange – help keep away a seasonal cold
2. One of the top vegetable sources of vitamin K – excellent for bone support
3. A good source of minerals like iron – helpful if you have low levels of iron like me

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

20140119-000318.jpg

Ingredients and Nutritional Information:

  • 1 lb of raw Brussel sprouts
  • 1 tbsp raw extra virgin coconut oil
  • Salt / Pepper to taste

20140118-180040.jpg

Directions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Liquefy the coconut oil – microwave a bowl of water for about a minute and then place a smaller bowl with the tbsp of coconut oil in it;  the heat of the water gradually brings the oil to liquid form
  3. Wash Brussel sprouts and pat dry
  4. Cut off the bottom stem and slice each spout in half
  5. Spread the spouts evenly in a glass, oven-safe dish
  6. Pour the coconut oil over the Brussel spouts and season with salt and pepper
  7. Bake sprouts for approximately 30 min until crispy and golden – check and stir mid way though

Variations:

  • If you don’t have coconut oil, olive oil works just fine. Coconut oil can be expensive and some don’t like the taste of coconuts.
  • I sometimes add crushed / sliced almonds about half way through cooking the sprouts – the toasted nut flavor works wonderfully with the nutty taste of roasted Brussel sprouts

 

Question for you: Do you have a favorite Winter Roasting recipe you’d like to share?  Please post a comment and let me know and you can be a guest blogger!

Cheers³

Reni

3 thoughts on “January Winter Roasting – Roasted Brussel Sprouts

  1. Pingback: January Winter Roasting Wrap Up + Roasted Cauliflower Recipe | Cheers³

  2. Brussel sprouts are definitely my favorite. Broccoli with olive oil is #2. I also really enjoy roasted cauliflower which I figured out has to have the squeeze of lemon to be tasty.
    Looking forward to your recipes!

    Like

    • Thanks for checking out the blog Wendy! Roasted broccoli is one of my favorites too – it will be posted soon 🙂 I wouldn’t have thought to add lemon to roasted cauliflower – I will have to try that!

      Like

Leave a Reply

