Hungry, Hungry Hump Day – Thoughts One Day After a Juice Cleanse

Happy hump day everyone!

20131002-171111.jpg

After last week’s reduced running and increased bread, cheese and wine, this week I’m getting back on track! From a food perspective I enjoyed a meat-less Monday with all vegetarian dishes and Tuesday I did my first juice cleanse. A co-worker of mine swears by juice cleanses, not as a weight less tool necessarily but as a great way to “de-tox” from bad eating habits and focus on healthy eating. I have read some posts from other bloggers on the topic so I thought I’d give it a whirl.  It was an interesting experience, but today I am hungry and plan to enjoy some lasagna with a turkey marinara sauce tonight for dinner.

Prior to starting my cleanse, I did a little research on the internet to find some easy options and discovered Suja Juice.Suja, based in California, offer 1, 3, and 5 day cleanses and will ship their fresh organic juices to your door along with detailed instructions. As a juicing newbie this sounded perfect, and I ordered the 1 day cleanse since I wasn’t really sure I would be up for a 100% liquid diet for longer than 24 hours. Here are my top 3 pros and cons to my first juice cleanse:

Pros:

  • 1. Convenience. My juices were shipped overnight to me and I received an email with detailed instructions on what to do before, during and after my cleanse.

20131002-171956.jpg

  • 2. Easy. I didn’t have to figure out what I was going to eat all day or think about portion sizes and calorie counts. I just opened the bottles of juice at the right time and drank it. This would come in handy during busy times at work when it is hard to step away from my desk to make lunch.

20131002-171939.jpg

  • 3.  Cleansing. Yes, my juice cleanse was cleansing. I might have had to run to the ladies a few more times than usual but the day after I felt less bloated / puffy.  I even dropped a few pounds, although I’m sure I won’t keep them off long term.

Cons:

  • 1.  Cold.  Perhaps on a warm sunny afternoon I would have loved to sit our on my balcony and sip on some cold refreshing juice.  And then some more.  And some more.  But it’s been very chilly this week yet I can’t quite surrender to turning on the heat.  So I sat in a cold apartment, drinking cold juice getting cold fingers.  I drank hot green tea in between juices which did help a bit.
  • 2.  Sweet.  I don’t typically drink a lot of juice.  If I do, it is just a splash in some sparkling water (or wine!) to add some flavor.  Even though the juices in my cleanser were 100% organic with no extra sugar added, they were really sweet and after each juice I felt like I needed to brush my teeth.  If I do another cleanser, I might have to mix my juice with water to help cut the sweetness.
  • 3.  Unsatisfying.  One of my concerns with consuming nothing but liquid is that I would be starving all day.  I was not.  But I wasn’t exactly satisfied either.  Perhaps it was the reduced amounts of protein and healthy fats that I normally consume.  Maybe I could try making smoothies with the juices and adding some Greek yogurt, avocado or protein powder to the mix to add some staying power.  I also missed eating and even missed preparing my meals.  I also missed having dinner with my husband.  It might be helpful to do the cleanse with him next time – we will see if I can get him on board.  Since I was drinking my juice, he ended up going out to dinner with co-workers and watching a hockey game while having beer and chicken wings, so not sure juice can compare to that.

I suppose the big question is would I do it again?  I think so.  But I’m still not sure I’d be up for a 3 or 5 day cleanse.  Perhaps I could modify it and just do the morning and afternoon juice and still eat dinner.  Or integrate more protein and make smoothies.  It might be something I try after the holiday indulgences, although that is clearly not an original concept.  Regardless, I’m glad I tried it and I feel great today.  And I’m really looking forward to dinner tonight!

Questions for you:  Have you ever done a juice cleanse?  What was your experience like?  Something you’d do again?

Cheers³
Reni

3 thoughts on “Hungry, Hungry Hump Day – Thoughts One Day After a Juice Cleanse

  1. Pingback: Starting a 21 Day Detox and a Zucchini Cashew Soup Recipe | Cheers³

Leave a Reply

