Two Hound Tuesday – New Collars

Two Hound Tuesday – New Collars

This blog is about Health & Happiness (times three) and usually I write about running or recipes or other fitness and food type topics. Today I’m going to focus on my Greyhounds, Lucie and Buddy, who are part of my family and certainly impact my happiness and my health… So here are today’s top three about the Hounds:

1. Sunny Afternoon Walk: We live in a high-rise at the moment which means about 4 walks a day to let the dogs stretch their legs and do their business. It was grey and rainy all day today, which doesn’t make for a fun walk, but as I was wrapping up some work emails, the sun broke through the clouds so I hustled the dogs outside to enjoy it with a walk around our neighborhood park and some extra time training:

20130924-153645.jpg

Here they are working on their training for “sit”, “stay” and “look at me”.  Buddy can’t sit (like many Greyhounds) but he’s got the “stay” and “look at me down pat”!  Lucie is sitting, but you’ll notice her bottom doesn’t even touch the ground – she is kind of squatting and hovering due to her long and muscle-y Greyhound legs!

20130924-154038.jpg

2. New Collars: We tend to rotate collars seasonally, usually buying new ones from fellow Greyhound owners who have small businesses making Greyhound gear like collars or coats (and often donate a portion of profits to a local Greyhound rescue group). I bought these from Huggable Hounds – very fun for fall with a funky purple leopard print for Lucie and a dashing manly mustache motif for Bud:

20130924-154534.jpg

20130924-154605.jpg

3. Lazy Greyhounds! Despite their former careers at the race track, Greyhounds are VERY lazy! My dogs easily spend 22 hours a day sleeping and lounging around (as you can see from the pics taken of them modeling their new collars). They spend about 5 minutes zooming around the living room playing with each other or with toys, maybe an hour or so on walks and the remaining moments eating – what a life these racers live in their retirement!  Buddy clearly was ready for a nap during our photo shoot in the park this afternoon as I snapped this one mid yawn:

20130924-155012.jpg

Well actually, yes, I know yawning can mean something different in Doggie Language, ie. a calming signal.  Buddy was probably just loosing patience with standing still as I took pictures;  he wanted his treat and he wanted to continue his walk.  Either way, I thought it was a funny pic with his yawn and Lucie looking like she is ready to lay down and snooze…  which both are doing as I type this blog.

Question for you:  How often does your dog get new gear?  Or so you prefer to spoil them with new toys or tasty treats?

Cheers³

Reni

10 thoughts on “Two Hound Tuesday – New Collars

  1. Your dogs are so, so beautiful! I love everything about greyhounds! When I adopted mine I was told she wasn’t able to sit. I had her for months, and then one night I was standing outside talking to a friend for awhile and-I don’t know if she was just bored-but she just sat down! Sitting is now her most proficient trick 😉 Thanks for the link to Huggable Hounds, I think I will get my grey a new collar!

    Like

  2. I bought Amy a collar online from Kitsch Collars – black with a silver and gold Celtic running dogs design. When it came I discovered it was gorgeous but so bling it would have to be kept for special occasions. So she has a very plain green one from the same company. But mostly she wears a Greyhound Rescue West of England (online shop again) red black and white heart design – reminds me of playing cards.
    Because she suffers from corns she also sometimes wears Ruffwear Griptrex boots… and because of where we live, she needs a waterproof coat – for a lot of walks, year round – and a fleece one for winter nights!
    And yes, she spends about 20 hours a day snoozing… 🙂

    Like

    • Too funny that Amy has her own fancy collar for special occasions 🙂

      And I didn’t realize Amy has corns – Buddy does too! Only on one back paw and we are able to treat them at home so he can be pain free for 3-6 weeks and only needs to suffer wearing a boot now and then. I just bought him custom made boots that are nice and tall since he would kick off the short ones. We will have to compare notes at some point!

      Like

      • Yes please – I’m struggling to know what to do. She was retired out of racing due to a corn coming back after surgery. She has one on her back paw that doesn’t bother her, but a really deep painful one on the front paw. I had it ‘hulled’ regularly by the vet but she got minimal relief. We had a greyhound-knowledgeable vet (rare in Scotland – and tragically he has recently died) who then looked up all the corn surgery research to show me. She had the front paw corn surgically removed a year ago. Vet said it was so deep and large there was little pad tissue left. But her paw healed fine and she had about 3 months corn free before it gradually grew back. Now it’s as bad as before. I know some dogs get the whole toe removed – I would do that if I felt sure it would be the end of it, but I worry I might get the toe removed and then she gets a bad corn on the next toe and…etc.
        During September I’ve been soaking her paw in warm water and bicarb for 5 minutes every evening then putting Ekoneem on the pad with the corn it and covering her foot with a little sock over night. That has meant I can ‘hull’ it myself at home every week or so, just by picking at the edge – the hardest superficial bit of corn comes away.
        Sorry for the long comment but any advice would certainly be appreciated.

        Like

      • I’m so sorry you and Amy are dealing with corns! It sounds like hers are more severe compared to Bud’s. But in addition to the corn on his rear paw, he also has an enlarged toe knuckle, likely an old racing injury that never healed right, so he’s lost some range of motion (although when he is feeling good, you’d never know it!). In our journey to help is foot, we learned amputation was an option as were long term pain meds, but I wanted to avoid both since he is an otherwise healthy boy. We had the corn surgically removed once, but the recovery was horrible – he ended up getting awful sores in between his toes (due to his big knuckle) that took a while to heal. And the corn came back So the orthopedic surgeon we consulted with (who is also very familiar with Greys) made a surprising recommendation: duct tape. We apply a small square of the tape whenever he shows signs of the corn coming back (when he limps a little on a walk and starts holding up his back paw and not putting any weight on it when standing) and then peel it off every couple of days. The sticky adhesive will pull out the hard/crusty surface of the corn (much like it sounds like you are doing by hand now). In between taping I use a foot spray called tender paws (http://www.naturalpaws.net/productinfo.php). It is all natural and smells great, and while it wasn’t made specifically to treat corns (it is for working dogs with dry / cracked paws) it helps soften up the pads overall and the harder areas around the corn which then can make it easier for the duct tape to pull out the “corny” parts. We do this for about a week, and also put on his boot for walks outside and a baby sock when inside for extra padding. We also will take it easy on him and not force him on any long walks and try to stick to the park so he can walk on grassy surfaces which seems to feel better for his foot. So overall he will have a bad week while the corn comes back and we treat it, but there are many more good days in between when we don’t need the boot and all he wants to do is run and play. It might get worse as he gets older, but for now this is working for us. I don’t think we will ever cure it and at least this way we can avoid lots of expensive vet procedures (for now). Not sure if this will help Amy as it sounds you are doing something pretty similar. Have you ever visited Grey Talk: http://forum.greytalk.com/? It’s an on-line forum where you can post questions and get answers from other Grey people on all sorts of topics from diet, training and health issues. Corns is a topic that comes up quite a bit. Hang in there – Amy is lucky you are working so hard to help her find some relief for her little paws 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

