Spontaneous Weekend of Fun: Pints to Pasta 10k, Wine and Walking with the Hounds

Happy Sunday!  This weekend was full of surprises.  It all started Saturday morning as I was getting ready for my 9 mile run and glancing through my email.  I received an email from a local running club about a 10K race on Sunday called Pints to Pasta.  The finish line was in my neighborhood and they were hosting a packet pick up with registrations still available at the restaurant down the street.  So I asked my husband if he would be up for taking the dogs for a longer walk to the restaurant so I could sign up for the race and then we could head out for a day trip.  He is very game for spur of the moment adventures (I’m more about following a plan typically) so and so our tale beings….

1. Last minute race registration – Pints to Pasta 10k:  I’d seen the race advertisements for this boasting it was the best 10K in the Pacific Northwest.

20130908-180258.jpg

I was intrigued with the race route:  a point-to-point journey from North Portland to my neighborhood in the South Waterfront.

20130908-180228.jpg

I was hooked by the post race party with beer and pasta for all participants (clearly I have a thing for races with tasty treats at the finish line, for example the Bridges to Brews 8K and the Cinco de Mayo 10K earlier this year).  It was a great day for a run, and I enjoyed the new route.  Since I was supposed to run 9 miles for my long training run this week, I ended up running a mile to warm up before the start and then “cooled down” with a 2 mile jog along the river path before I headed into the post race party for my Pints and Pasta – I was happy to still get in my miles but get to enjoy a new race with it’s tasty rewards at the finish line:

20130908-175757.jpg

20130908-175806.jpg

2. Quick trip to Hood River for wine tastings:  Since I switched up my running plan, I seemed to have all this extra time on Saturday and so I wanted to do something fun.  It was a gorgeous sunny day – not at all like the soggy fall weather  during the week, so Matt and I decided to take advantage of what could be one of the last weekends of summer and head out to Hood River in the Columbia River Gorge.  The Gorge is a naturally beautiful area along the Columbia River with views of Mount Hood and other local peaks.  We drove away from downtown Hood River and into the country to visit some of our favorite wineries.  We are wine club members at Phelps Creek Vineyards, which means free tastings and discounts on all purchases, so that is where we started:

20130908-175923.jpg

20130908-175937.jpg

We ended our afternoon at Marchesi Vineyards, with their amazing amazing patio in the vines with wonderful views to enjoy their Italian style wines with a meat and cheese board:

20130908-175943.jpg

3. Greyhound Walking Club:  Sunday was another sunny day here in Portland.  While stretching after my run, I scrolled through Facebook and noticed the post from one of my friends with a Greyhound:  “On our way to the Greyhound Walk in the South Waterfront!”  Portland has a Walking Club for Greyhound people, meeting up once a month in different neighborhoods around Portland for a nice long walks with the hounds.  When we first moved to Portland we attended the walks regularly as it was a wonderful way to meet people and explore new parts of the city.  We haven’t been able to attend a walk in a while, but since this month’s walk was right in my neighborhood I figured, like the Pints to Pasta 10K, this was a sign to get out there!  I hustled to clean up after run and hauled the dogs out to the park to the meeting location.  All walks begin with a “group Roo” (letting the dogs to howl and bark together as shown in this You Tube demonstration) which Lucie and Buddy LOVE to do.  After the Roo comes the walk, where Lucie and Buddy hustled to get to the front of the pack:

20130908-175817.jpg

20130908-175859.jpg

20130908-175850.jpg

Both dogs enjoyed this long walk with a crew of Greyhounds and have proceeded to sleep the rest of the day!

Question for you:  Did you do anything unexpected this weekend?  Does your city have any fun theme races with great food and drinks at the finish line?

Cheers³

Reni

4 thoughts on “Spontaneous Weekend of Fun: Pints to Pasta 10k, Wine and Walking with the Hounds

  1. Pingback: Menu Planning Monday with a Side of Disappointing Tomatoes | Cheers³

Leave a Reply

