A Happy Run and Wine for Racers

After weeks of huffing and puffing on my training runs, today I had a break through:  I felt GREAT, didn’t need to stop to walk, kept a faster pace and even ran longer than planned!  My top 3 for this Tuesday:

1.  A Happy Run:  Finally!  I was starting to get worried and frustrated with all the walk breaks I was needing.  I wasn’t sure if it was my new shoes – so I switched back.  I wasn’t sure if it was my fuel / hydration plan – so I stopped bringing water on my runs.  I wasn’t sure if it was the pod-casts I was listening to – so I switched to high energy music.  After making all these adjustments, I was still hurting before-during-and-after my run.  But today, something clicked!  I’m not sure if it was a culmination of all my adjustments along the way, or if the hills / speed work was finally helping.  It was certainly NOT the weather as it was more humid than your typical Pacific Northwest morning.  But today my run was great!  A little bit faster and a little bit longer than usual so  I’m taking this small victory!

pdxrunhappy

2.  Weekly Workout Plan:  So far so good…

  • Saturday – 8 mile run (VERY rough, needed many walk breaks)
  • Sunday – Yoga (helped with my sore muscles)
  • Monday – Strength Training (first workout with Matt after a slew of travel & meetings at work taking him out of the routine for a bit)
  • Tuesday – 4 mile run with a few hills  5 mile run with a few hills!  (longer and faster than planned!)
  • Wednesday – Strength Training and 2-3 mile run
  • Thursday – 9 mile run (moved next Saturday’s run to this Thursday due to travel schedule)
  • Friday – Abs/rest

3)  Racing Reds:  Today I received a delivery of “Racing Reds” – bottles of red wine benefiting Greyhounds Only, the Chicago adoption group we worked with to adopt our first hound, Lucie. I stay in the loop with what Greyhounds Only is doing even after our move; they are a fabulous group and I want to support all the work they do to help other Greyhounds like Lucie find forever homes in Chicago.  It is a pretty cool idea – selling wine with Greyhound themed names and labels while promoting the group’s mission and raising money.  Perhaps I can organize something like this for our adoption group in Oregon, Greyhound Pet Adoption Northwest. The company who helps with the wine sales is called Benefit Wines and works with many different non-profit groups to organize fundraisers.  Check them out and buy a bottle (or two, or three)!

20130827-163410.jpg

(Don’t worry, Lucie’s Happy Hour involves water al fresco out on our balcony.  The wine is for human consumption only!)

Question for you:  Have you ever been in a running slump?  How did you get out of it?

Cheers³

Reni

4 thoughts on “A Happy Run and Wine for Racers

Leave a Reply

