Workout Results and Planning – Week Starting 8/3

I hope everyone is enjoying a relaxing weekend – Lucie certainly is:

20130804-142531.jpg

Per my last blog post, I’m going to start posting more regularly on my fitness planning and tracking to help hold myself accountable as I work towards my next Half Marathon in September. I feel good about last week’s workouts and I mostly stuck to the plan – my “big deviation” was cutting one run short in order to have Lucie tag along with me.

1) Last week’s plan + results:

  • Saturday: 6 mile long run
  • Sunday: Yoga (Rise and Shine Yoga Class with Yoga Download Podcast)
  • Monday: Strength training (Lolo App: 10 min arms, 10 min legs, 6 min abs)
  • Tuesday: 4 mile run with hills
  • Wednesday: Strength training (5 min bike warm up, Skimble App: 18 min upper body, 40 lunges + 1 mile cool down run with Lucie – plan was 2 mile speed workout, but since Lucie wanted to join me, it was shorter and slower then my original plan, but more fun to run with her)
  • Thursday: 4 miles with negative split (21 min out, 17 min back, 5 min cool down)
  • Friday: Strength training (5 min bike warm up, Skimble App: 2 min fitness test (push ups, sit ups), 16 min upper body)

**Weekly Mileage Total: 15**

2) The plan for this week:

  • Saturday: 7 mile long run (Felt sluggish – I probably didn’t fuel properly before – I guess I need to eat more than half a banana before a longer run)
  • Sunday: Rest/Recovery Day: Yoga (Hatha Yoga Class with Yoga Download Podcast and Foam Rolling with Skimble App)
  • Monday: Strength training – Upper Body + Lunges
  • Tuesday: 4 mile run with hills
  • Wednesday: Strength training – Upper Body + Lunges, 2 mile speed workout
  • Thursday: 4 miles with negative split
  • Friday: Rest/Recovery Day: Ab workout

3) Quick fitness planning tip: I always start my week on Saturday since that is my Long Run day… it’s a little mental trick I use to get my long run “over with” at the start of each week and motivate me to get in my miles the rest of the week with shorter runs and I feel like I don’t have a long run “looming” over me all week (even though I do one every Saturday!).

Question for you: Do you have any mental tips or tricks that help you stick with a work out plan?

Cheers³

Reni

5 thoughts on “Workout Results and Planning – Week Starting 8/3

  1. Pingback: Fitness Results & Plan – Week of 8/10 + 10,000 Steps a Day | Cheers³

    • Hi! Thanks for reading and for the heads up. I normally use safari so might not have caught this! I will have to investigate… This is a WordPress template so I’ll have to check if there is a quick fix to help with IE compatibility.

      Like

  2. As you know, I currently have my running training program taped to my bathroom mirror. I’ve found that hanging a calendar in a prominent, highly visible area helps remind me to eat right and stick to the training plan. It’s not just hanging it up, though. I also have to USE the calendar (I.e. write my notes). Knowing that I will be writing SOMETHING today makes me think about it during the day.

    Like

    • I agree having a calendar is really helpful! I use my google calendar to plot out my workouts which is great because then I can setup reminders/alerts sent to my mobile device. But I do like the idea of keeping it more visible and being to write notes/comments – I might have to steal your post it note concept 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

