A Fresh Look at Fitness & Food + Buddy’s Anniversary

As July comes to a close, I’ve noticed most of my blog posts recently have revolved around our travel.  While our road trips have been a great part of this summer, there have been a lot of other things going on too, specifically around fitness and food.  So a couple of notes and plans for a more balanced blog in the future:

1)  Fitness:  After my Half Marathon in May, I reviewed my fitness routine to see if there were any tweaks needed.  I was doing a great job with my running plan, but I wasn’t very well-rounded.  So starting in June I incorporated strength training 3 times a week.  I had help from Matt who was also interested in getting into regular strength training.  We committed to working out together – gasp – early in the mornings before work.  This was a big deal;  I am NOT a morning person, tend to be very grumpy and have felt in the past my workout were not effective in the mornings since I was still half asleep, but due to Matt’s schedule, this was the best time, so we decided to give it a shot for a month and see how it went.

Well, July is almost over and I’m happy to say we’ve stuck with the program AND I’ve become a little less grumpy in the mornings 🙂 Lately we have been using a fitness app called Skimble that has a ton of workouts to choose from (or you can design your own – which I want to try soon!).

skimble_workout_trainer_workout_every_body

We bring a smart phone to the gym, do a quick warm up on the elliptical or bike, pick a strength workout, hit play and follow along with the electronic trainer.  We’ve been focused on upper body and sometimes abs, and we end each session with a round of walking lunges.  Today we did this workout called New Dumbbell Workouts.

I also signed up for another Half Marathon in September – the North County Wine Run:

winerunheader

Last year Matt and I ran the 10K option and it was an excellent race with great food, wine and music available after the run.  I’m not sure if I will be up for wine after running a Half – we shall see….  but the beautiful course will be well worth it and hopefully my new strength training will help.

With this new race goal on the horizon along with my plans to stick with my strength training plan, I’ll be sure to post more frequently about my weekly training goals to help keep me accountable and on track!

2)  Food:  Farmer’s Markets are in full swing this time of year, and I’m happy to say I’m taking full advantage.  My neighborhood has a small market every Thursday that I check out whenever I can:

heading_farmers_market

I love getting fresh, seasonal food and supporting our local farmers.  I always pick up some kale and berries to ensure I have enough on hand for my regular berry smoothies in the AM and kale salads in the PM.

Sometimes I even combine them for a salad like this one:

photo(24)

Kale-n-Blueberry Salad

  • 1-2 cups of kale
  • 1/4 cup of blueberries
  • 1/4 cup canned chickpeas
  • 8 cucumber slices, sliced in half
  • 6 grape tomatoes, sliced in half
  • 1-2 tbsp feta cheese crumbles
  • 1 tbsp shelled pumpkin seeds
  • A couple spritzes of olive oil and lemon juice

Going forward, I’ll be better about sharing more information about my Farmer’s Market finds and fun seasonal recipes!

3)  Buddy:  Today is the 2 year anniversary of Buddy’s Gotcha Day!

IMG_6785

His Gotcha Day could be in June since that is when we first picked him up from the adoption kennel and brought him back to our apartment in order to foster him.  But today marks the anniversary of when we became foster failures and signed the paperwork to make him officially part of our pack when we decided we couldn’t let him go to an adoption event in Central Oregon where we would have likely found a different forever home.  We definitely made the right decision – he is such a goofy boy who helps keep Lucie calm when we are not at home and has become the rock star of the Greyhound Play Dates with his love of chasing (and not retrieving) tennis balls.   I’ll be sure to continue to blog about our furry family members and their grand adventures!

Question for you: Are you a morning person?  Any tips for a non-morning person on sticking to a morning workout routine?

Cheers³

Reni

4 thoughts on “A Fresh Look at Fitness & Food + Buddy’s Anniversary

  1. Pingback: Workout Results and Planning – Week Starting 8/3 | Cheers³

  2. I’m a morning person when it’s light but I hate getting up in the dark. The last winter I had to get up before 7am all winter, we got a big old daylight box in our room and when the alarm went off my husband switched it on. 15 minutes of lying in bed bathed in ‘natural’ light made me feel much less tired and grumpy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

